What advice would you give someone who has never bought gold before?

I'm brand new at this.

I've never invested in gold or silver and don't even know where to start. I'm open to any and all advice you could share with me. I look forward to your answers! Thank you!

Comments

• GoldmattersGoldmatters Posts: 3,915 Admin
    Hi @GoldNewbie ! I think @GoldIsCurrency explains the best way to use this platform : http://community.goldmoney.com/discussion/comment/20163#Comment_20163

Most importantly, I would begin by thinking of gold as money, not an investment. Savings that will preserve your wealth over the very long term. Try not to obsess over short term price fluxuactions.

Saving a small amount of your lifetime earnings every pay check is a great place to start :)
  • UvasUvas Posts: 678 Silver ✭✭✭✭
    edited December 2016

Gold is a store of your wealth. It holds its value extremely well over time. If you have a emergency fund of cash sitting in a deposit or checking account, it would be smarter to hold it in gold. With Goldmoney you can buy or sell gold from your bank account and buy it or sell it as needed. You can sell your gold and get your money in your bank account in 1-2 days. Compare that a bond fund, you sell your bonds, wait 2-3 days for it to clear, then move it to your bank account in 2-3 more days.

Gold won't make you rich, but it keeps your value safe. And using this Goldmoney platform is the is by far the most economical way to buy some gold, especially if you are just starting out. You can keep a thousand grams fully insured for no fees. The only cost you will ever see is the 1/2 percent they take when you buy or sell some gold, compared to 5-10 percent markup a gold coin dealer will hit you with.

Look around the site, there is a lot of information. Here is a good spot to start: https://www.goldmoney.com/why-gold
  • CarlospmurilloCarlospmurillo Posts: 2 Tin ✭
    HI, I'm new too